Easy Dinner · One Pot Recipe · Quick Cooking · Recipes · Undomestic goddess · vegetarian

Cream of tomato soup: fresh and quick

When the clock strikes 5pm, the only cuckoo bird rushing out will be me because it means that I need to have dinner ready in an hour. The temperamental little beings I am nurturing like seeing their hot dinner ready by 6, complain about it till 6:30, pick at it till 7 and start eating it once I turn from Mary Poppins to Professor Snape (I promised them to control my yelling but didn’t make any promises about toning down the glare). This cream of tomato soup is a nourishing but quick recipe that saved one such evening.

Despite their eccentrics, they are kind souls and never fail to give their honest opinions, albeit kindly.

Soup is always a reason for moaning because my eldest does not like certain textures but I knew I was on to a winner when she drank it without a peep. She did tell me not to make it everyday but I’ll take my compliments wherever I can.

Cream of tomato soup with fresh tomatoes

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 1hr
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

• 8 medium size ripe tomatoes (I used Roma but the vine ripened ones will be even delicious),chopped

• 1 medium onion, sliced

• 4 cloves of garlic, minced

• 2 carrots, roughly chopped

• Handful of corriander leaves with stalks, chopped

• 1litre of vegetable or chicken stock (use homemade or  organic stock)

• 250ml thick cream (you can reduce this according to your palate and dietary requirements)

• Salt to taste

• 2 tbsp regular olive oil

Directions

Heat a saucepan with the oil. Add the onions and garlic and let it cook till the onions are golden brown. I let it caramelise a bit because it adds more depth to the flavour.

Throw in the carrots, toss it around for a minute, add the tomatoes and corriander leaves, and pour in the stock. Season it and let it simmer uncovered for 30 minutes.

Take it off the heat and blitz it with an immersion blender, stir in the cream, correct seasoning and heat it slightly before serving.

You can serve it with a dollop of sour cream or regular thick cream on top but we just had it with a side of toasted bread because this mommy was exhausted to even consider garlic bread or croutons.


Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

