Uncategorized

Sticks and stones

stick-and-stones-may-break-my-bones
 

I neither produced nor own this image and it has been included in the blog only after searching and failing to note a copyright. Do inform otherwise to make amends.

 

 

Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.

Plaster it on walls, hang it on the door, write it in between the lines of ink

Stark bold font on contrasting backdrop

Clear vocals loud and sharp out of a speaker atop a hill

Basking since the beginning in its glorious infamy.

 

Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.

Those words a slogan for many a misguided

Thriving amongst the throngs of earnest believers,

Breeding devotees faster than one could spout:

The words ring aloud mangling sense and sanity as one

 

Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.

A band aid or a kiss will help the scrape of a stick on flesh

Heat and cold will aid the bumps of hurled stones.

But the puncture of words run deep and sore,

Healing on occasion but most throb forever

 

Anguish echoes beneath the scars caused by words;

Never whole again for no darning aids a soul.

Adorned in armour of the same harsh words

Poised to carry on the legacy of the old-

For sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

